Page

So, last Wednesday night I was out walking by the sea and watching seals on Bute, this Wednesday night I've just had a swim in the pool at the villa in Lanzarote and right now as I type, 10.21pm to be precise, I'm all alfresco in 20+ degrees still with a couple of beers on the terrace. 

We've not been here that long, every picture tells a story eh?

The plane was meant to leave Edinburgh at 6.10am this morning but just as we were about to leave the pilot told us that something needed attention and there'd be a short delay. Three hours later he announced that we had to go back into the terminal and that they were sending another plane up from Stansted for us and that it shouldn't be too long. We ended up leaving on this replacement plane around 13.20, a mere seven hours later. It certainly ruined our plans for lunchtime tapas at the marina in Playa Blanca that's for sure but....we got here in the end, albeit in near darkness by the time we got to the villa. Still, the local Italian was busy but not full and able to seat us no problem and to say that their anchovy and caper pizza  hit the spot completely would perhaps be the understatement of 2022.

And the photo here? Well, I started reading I'm Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid on the original plane and I was already up to page 142 whilst in the terminal mid-morning. Finished it off somewhere over The Bay Of Biscay.

So, first day proper of the holiday tomorrow I reckon, and I got a date at the bike shop around 10am to pick up my hired carbon. Should be good.

Music Now Playing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.