RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Draining

Going into the site meeting this morning I discovered that the almost-new kitchen sink I collected on my bike a month ago has been stolen from the cardboard box in the front garden where I tried to hide it. So has another sink in much worse condition. I don't really mind about that one, but it tells me that both are probably going for scrap metal which is a frustrating waste of the nice shiny one.

At the meeting the architect accepted he'd have to amend the draft contract given that I would not budge from my view that it needs to contain not just the total cost of the project but also what I have already paid. Plus a few other less significant amendments.

He sighed, 'Lots of people just sign the contract without reading it.'

'I hope we never need the contract', I replied, 'and that the trust we have continues. Just like I hope we don't need our insurance policies. But in case we do, let those of us who know the job from the inside write it so that anyone who might have to understand the complications later can understand them easily.'

At least I know from my midnight emails with the builder last night that he agrees with me.

Then the architect pointed out that the extension floor joists have been installed at the wrong height. That will have an effect on the insulation. The site manager didn't admit to a mistake and didn't defend his work but got on professionally with discussing a solution. It seems that there will be a solution that does not involve the contract but...

Edit - email from the architect the following day. He made a mistake. The drawings had been altered when it was decided I was having joists throughout the house and the work the builder has done is exactly as the drawings said it should be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.