Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Agios Vasilis church in Palia Roumata

Today Sweetheart wanted to take a tour with me across Crete. I did not fancy a far off drive in the direction of Iraklio so I opted for the Byzantine chapels in Palia Roumata, not far away from Kandanos on the road to Paleochora. And so we did. 
Sweetheart had invited his friend Nikos, who's from the island of Syros and has Italian ancestors, hence his Roman Catholic faith and his job as a Priest and monk at the Roman Catholic Church here in Chania.

I'd met Nikos on earlier occasions, so it was lovely to spend this day in his company too. Amongst the many items we discussed, was that of his life as monk... No possessions, no income, no pension built up! It's all gratitude that he receives! I could not believe my ears! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.