This is the day

By wrencottage

Washed out

That’s a description of me, and my garden today! I spent all morning continuing on the great battle against the moths, which required stripping a king sized bed, moving quite a bit of furniture, vacuuming underneath and round the skirting edges and washing all the bed linen, including the mattress protector. 

This afternoon was spent researching carpet cleaning machines and attempting to order one. That should have been a simple process but I spent a good hour trying to get the website to take my credit card or debit card. Two telephone calls to the customer service help desk later, and I finally managed it, but only by starting all over again and proffering my husband’s debit card instead, which it accepted. Why it didn’t like my cards (for our joint account) I have no idea, but I’ll leave that little conundrum for another day. I then did all the ironing, including the bed linen, after that and felt quite pleased with myself.

I have spent the entire day sneezing and streaming, which is nothing new for me in the autumn. Whatever it is I’m allergic to, it is always worse when it rains, which it has done quite a lot today. And, of course, I’ve been dealing with the moths. However by this evening I became shivery, and have the beginnings of a temperature. Oh deep joy. 

This photo of our somewhat bedraggled rose garden was snatched through the window with my phone. It was either that, or a pile of wet leaves by the back door. The roses won.

And, as a short aside, may I please explain to my lovely Blip friends that I like to keep Blip as a politics-free zone. Obviously that’s a hot topic at the moment, but I am trying to steer clear of all political comment for the sake of my sanity and blood pressure! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.