This is the day

By wrencottage

Our Village

After a night of coughing and fitful sleep in the spare bedroom, I came downstairs for breakfast but soon realised I wasn’t well enough to stay up, so I’ve spent the day in bed.

I started to read  the classic book “Our Village” by Mary Russell Mitford but, being me, I couldn’t resist looking up the village (Three-Mile Cross) on Google and trying to find out if any of the houses she talks about are still standing. They are, and this is the pub next door to her house, which is the cream painted building to the left.

I wasn’t able to concentrate for too long, so I didn’t get very far, but her vivid description of a genteel, bucolic life in a 19th century village was restful and soothing for the poorly patient.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.