Donor

Today’s main event was a trip to the Big City to attend a memorial lecture I had been invited to.

It was organised by Medical Aid for Palestinians, a charity I donate to. It is pretty much the only one. They guessed they might squeeze some more money out of me by giving me free wine. They guessed right.  

Apart from the cause being one I support anyway, I was attracted by the main speaker being Dr Philippa Whitford, the SNP MP. I know about her work for Palestinians both here and there, and I have heard her speak before. Until the pandemic she was spending her holidays there both operating (she is a breast cancer surgeon) and training local doctors.

Yes, she is passionate. 

The Blip is the Playfair Library, where the event took place. It is part of the University of Edinburgh’s Law Faculty so I recognised many books on the shelves. 

The Extra is the outside.

It rained all day, so I was pleased to have something interesting and worthwhile to occupy me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.