Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Up in the air

Had a rather fantastic experience this afternon when my old boss Mr B offered to take me up in a single engined 'plane, which is not something I'd ever done before. Apart from a few banks and turns at the end which left me clutching my stomach it was an amazing experience. A bit crap photographically - the perspex cockpit totally destroys the optical qualities of the light before it gets to your lens - so this shot isn't technically the best - but quite dramatic taken from an altitude of 2,300 feet with a zoom lens. It's a very famous school called Charterhouse just outside Godalming in Surrey. We flew from Fairoaks in Woking down to the Isle of Wight and back, and saw everything from a sun kissed Solent to a a grey and dinghy looking Guildford.

As to the rest of the day: lovely morning just pottering and cooking (made a fab kedgeree for breakfast). Aged P was pretty okay today. And the cats loved having TSM in the garden puling up weeds.

After Fairoaks I dashed over to Weybridge and we took the YogaMama to Heathrow as she is off to Australia - very different flying experience!

All in all a very good and unusual day. And another day to come tomorrow ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.