and through the wire...

By hesscat

Tell The Story Or He Goes

I often have 2 threads of politics running through my head, 1. my own personal view of how we should be governed, and 2. an obsession with the politics of politics. Obviously this causes both frustration and fascination at the same time, but after the resignation today I was feeling quite drained by it all. The rollercoaster is now on at the bottom of the dip, about to return to the top, take a breather eh!

So what better way to switch off is there than to head through to the Hydro to see Bon Iver. Tickets bought in 2019 for May 2020... oh, postponed to January 2021, oh, postponed to October 2021, oh, postponed to October 2022. It was difficult to keep up, enough time for 3 or 4 prime ministers? The tour was for an album release in 2019, I blipped a listening party in Edinburgh then - in normal times they would have released a new album by now, if only they could get the tour done!

Anyways, with free guest parking right outside again, we took advantage of the OVO Live Lounge toilets and took our seats. For the most part, listening/watching Bon Iver is like being wrapped up in cotton wool all nice and cosy watching a sun rise/set. Every so often they shake you up, you have to sit up and work out they can combine all these sounds into a song. I love them!  And through it all is Justin's voice, lower than I can go, and higher than I can go (without hurting myself), and always sounds like someone I would trust my life with, you know, dependable, he's got my back. 

If only we could get some politicians like that. Do your job, make sure we are all looked after, don't let it go to your head. Ach, breather over it seems. I've lost the off switch again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.