analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Juxtaposed. Lumix M4/3 20mm

On my way to and from work just outside Harvard Square, I pass by Harvard's Memorial Hall - aka Sanders Theater - across the street from the Graduate School of Design.  Over the course of this summer, the University has been refurbishing the magnificent slate roof of the 1870s-vintage Memorial Hall.  I have been watching the work progress and thinking how to photograph it.  When I leave work, the light now in October is past the Golden Hour.  So, today, with some time to spare, I went by earlier, parked the car, and strolled around looking for the best view point.  The old Gothic Revival building and the George Gund building from 1972 couldn't make more disparate bed fellows, so I decided that the most interesting image would include them both.  The task was not made easier by the heavy early rush-hour traffic.  I had to time the exposure to the traffic lights, and then only with moderate success; the cars came from all directions.  The Extra has much more of the ambient traffic but also a better sense of the urban environment.  I couldn't decide which I like better, so here are both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.