Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Fell sounds in the deep

It's been a whirlwind of a day! Darren and I bid adieu to Mops and Pops in Battle, headed down to sunny Hastings and took the Go Pro out for a whirl on the hill. On our wanderings, we came across this drumming troupe. They were very serious about the whole business.

They were out drumming as part of the festivities that are involved in Jack in the Green. It's a pagan-esque annual festival to celebrate the coming of the summer. My mother tells me the festival of Jack in the Green started the year I was born. It's quite nice to know it's as old as I am!

Whilst sat in mum's front garden, we met a wandering minstrel called Greg, whom we fed beer and food while he played his bagpipes for our entertainment. We decorated the house with garlands and greenery in readiness for the parade tomorrow.

Gorgeous sunshine, good company, lovely food and drink! What more could I ask for?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.