This'n'That

By Nanzy19

Valdy

Spent a few joyful hours at the Ruckle Heritage Farm Day, taking in the scene, enjoying the events, and of course taking hundreds of photos. There's no thought involved in choosing the one for today's blip.
A few weeks before the end my last year of teacher training at university, I was ready to throw in the towel, find another profession. I'd wanted to be a teacher ever since I could remember, but somehow the way we were being taught how to teach didn't sit right with me. One day a musician and his piano player came to the education building to do a noon hour concert in the foyer, and their uplifting music cheered me up enough to finish the year and graduate. Thank goodness, because I've had a rewarding career and can't imagine being anything but a teacher.
That musician was Valdy, and he lives on this island. He's a Canadian treasure, a real folk icon. He was playing at Ruckle Park today. I've never talked to him, never told him that his music was the reason I finished teacher ed. Some day I will tell him. If you'd like to hear one of his old songs, here's a link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.