Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Magi

I was up at St Mungo's Parish Church in Cumbernauld on Thursday morning trying out a livestream system we want to use at a service in a week or two. Glad to say that all went well.

There is a wall-hanging in one corner of the church depicting the Magi, or Wise Men, which catches my eyes every time I see it. Thursday, though, was the first time I had time to look at it properly and read the accompanying notes.

So behind each of figures are, from left to right, the early cottages built in the nascent New Town, the Kilsyth Hills, and a representation of the many woodland areas around the town. By their feet are stones representing the cobbled paths around Cumbernauld and daffodils, of which there are many in springtime.

I have a feeling that next time I'm in the church I'll spend more time looking at the wall hanging than paying attention to what's going on around me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.