KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Flying Scorpion Armadillo

Late autumn sunshine,
glinting. Low, warm and golden
light sparkling through fields.

Busy day.  Began with unpicking the crazy dreams I was having.  I dreamt there was a little bug in the house, about the size of a pritt stick (not sure why that is a unit of measurement that comes to mind..) it looked like a little armadillo.  I was fascinated by it and was trying to get everyone's attention in my dream, "look, look, it's a bug that looks like an armadillo.." you get the idea.  No-one was very interested and as I was watching it, it opened it's wings and tried to fly off, it was quite heavy (relatively speaking) so it sort of wobbled about.  I tried to catch it to put it outside and it grew a sort of scorpion tail and tried to sting me, which just kind of scratched me. Still I could't get my dream companions to pay attention.. so heaven knows what my inner psyche is trying to tell me.  But when I told Ben he just said, "Wow, a flying scorpion armadillo." which I guess is what it was.  I'm pretty sure that's never been thought up before, I might have to write a children's picture book to bring it further to life :-D
In other news, Ben has been OK ish.  We walked into town this morning and had lots of little jobs to do in different shops, he quite enjoyed that and we merrily ticked everything off our list and walked home along the canal.  This afternoon his bloods went inexplicably high and despite many extra units of insulin they were stuck.  He got very frustrated that he couldn't eat a cereal bar he wanted and made massive fuss, it's hard watching him when you can understand his frustration and not make it better immediately but he did calm down eventually and then his bloods came down and he's been good as gold since then.  It does make you wonder what it feels like to him to have high blood glucose and whether it feels unsettling.  I made some cookies and we went to have a walk around the lake, the afternoon sun was beautiful (see photo) and we saw some very tame squirrels which was fun.  No armadillos though.  I did keep my eyes peeled. On the way home there was an unscheduled stop as Ben announced there was a spider on the windscreen.  It was behind the rear view mirror so I couldn't see it but it made me uncomfortable enough to pull over and check it out... and he was right, a spider.  Arachnid was relocated to a nearby garden and we both piled back into the car.  So that's about it for now.  Holiday starts tomorrow so I'm surrounded by lists and stress of packing in the morning.  Really looking forward to getting away though :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.