Ball? WHAT Ball??

Not so much "Wrong Trousers" © Wallace, more wrong Spex.  
I decided to make Silage; at least the grass seemed long enough so to do. I'm not sure whether I cut it or just beat it into submission. 

I spotted "something" Ball-like within the Cedar's area of foliage.  Due to the wrong-spex syndrome I was unable to see the markings, it looked uniform until I was Computer distance from it, since I was mowing wearing my computer Spex.

An online App. has it as one of two:-
15% chance - "Macrolepiota procera, the Parasol Mushroom, is a choice edible species found on roadside verges, in neglected pastureland and on grassy seaside cliffs in summer and autumn. 
Parasols are less common in northern England and Scotland except for sheltered coastal locations."  Which we ain't either Coastal or Scottish. 
Second check had it at 20.55%
9.69% - X "Found exclusively in N. America." - NOT.
"6.44% Leucoagaricus americanus" - Probably not?

I'll NOT be eating it, it has a lookalike/similar giving 1 in 25 folk stomach troubles.  Spore print due a.m. ?

Extra for ID purposes if there's any "Fungologists" out there.

The hand B T W  was as much to stop me tumbling into it as for as size gauge.
;¬)




4809

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.