Heavy Fretting

I was back at the scene of my previous blip - MelloMello - this evening for a very tasty veggie lasagne and excellent musical entertainment from an acoustic guitar and trombone duo (oh yes! Why aren't there more of these?!) of 'a certain age' known as St Martin's Press (named after a New York publishing house).

They played one of the most amazing musical selections I've ever heard, including songs by Robert Johnson, The Doors, The Beatles (a jaw-dropping version of Being For The Benefit of Mr Kite!), Bob Dylan and David Bowie (Always Crashing In The Same Car) amongst others. My particular highlights were a spirited rendition of the 1966 Los Bravos classic Black Is Black (better known to Disco lovers for the 1977 cover version by Belle Époque...) which had me grinning from ear to ear and, the most left-field choice of all, the synth classic Are 'Friends' Electric? by Tubeway Army. It will live long in my memory!

The trombonist's dog sat on stage throughout the proceedings too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.