Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Role Model

It's been another busy week at work so it's nice to get down to my mum's in Sussex for a few days.

Some family members travelled considerably further than I did though...

This is my Auntie Virginia who flew in today from Vancouver with her husband Eric.

Virginia has always been special to me - from the time she took me on my first visit to the theatre in London when I was a wee nipper via the book called 'The Non-Traditional Woman' that she gave me for my 11th birthday (I still have it!), the summer Goatee and I spent with her in Canada back in 1977 (when she gave me a punky haircut and bought me a much longed-for denim jacket!), subsequent visits to Canada, swapping of music and books, political debates and much more...

She and her friends showed me that there are all kinds of ways to live and that it's ok to be different - at a time when I most needed to know it and I'll always be grateful to her for that.

And, as I embark on my own career as an aunt to young Nappy, I couldn't wish for a better, or cooler, role model!

What's more, she used to be a professional photographer so I hope she'll forgive this amateur snap!

Apologies for my lack of comments for the next few days... I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.