I Sing the October Woods Electric!

We got up in the morning, early enough to go for Boy Scout hoagies, as it was a home football game day, and then my husband dropped me off on the other side of town so I could do the Mahala walk. I typically have tea in the morning, but my husband had made fresh coffee, so I had some.

Now, sadly, coffee is a thing I pretty much gave up when my blood pressure started to give me issues a few years ago. And I do miss it, and I have it infrequently. (Two different medications now keep me at "normal" numbers on the blood pressure charts.)

Just for kicks, I checked my blood pressure before and after coffee, and the coffee paradoxically DROPPED both of my numbers: the bottom number (which had been fine, and normal) went down by 14 points; go figure!

I remember the first time I ever had coffee, as a teenager. It was at a church Christmas party and there was coffee and I'd never been allowed to have any at home. I had SIX CUPS that night, enjoyed them immensely, and then went home and slept like a baby!

Anyway, I was zinging like an electric wire from the coffee, and I had my blaze orange on because, you know, hunters and all. "I sing the body electric!" I thought to myself as I hopped in the car with uncharacteristic glee and energy. "Wow! Coffee really makes you feel like you can DO THINGS!" I said.

And then I did the Mahala hike, and the colors were lovely, as you can see. Everyone I saw had blaze orange on, even the dogs. I only ran into one hunter and did not actually get shot, so it was a pretty good day!

When I had walked my way back to our end of the Scotia Barrens (my second home), there sat my husband on his bicycle, waiting for me in the parking lot; he was concerned about me because, you know, hunters and all.

So it was fun, like when the cute boy you had your eye on unexpectedly meets you after class, or at the bus stop. "I could do that walk AGAIN!" I said, with gusto, my legs not yet tired. Oh yeah, coffee. Stuff of champions!

So here is a posting from the zinging girl, who sings the body electric. :-) Enjoy the colors, for they are fabulous this year! And now for a song that has something electric about it: here's Electric Light Orchestra with Hold on Tight (to your dreams!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.