Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Lifeboat

I arrived in Rhyl in plenty of time for my visit to Mum, so I took the long way round to the care home via the sea front.  

Just as I was approaching the lifeboat station, the doors opened, a horn tooted and this chunky tractor appeared pulling the inshore lifeboat D770 “Mary Maxwell.” Down the slipway they went, and as the tide was in it was an easy launch from there. Apparently the tires of the tractor are part filled with water to aid their progress across deep channels in the sands when the tide is out.  The boat seemed to settle about half a mile off shore so I’m guessing this was a training exercise.


Mum seemed bright. I am not the greatest conversationalist so rely a lot on photos to bring her up to speed with what the kids have been doing and to revisit some events, people and places from earlier in her life. I had a good 90 minute visit.

Then it was back on the train for an extended journey home given there were no services today between Warrington and Manchester. A tour of Cheshire via Crewe ensued, which at least gave me my first view of Alderley Edge in a while. This also meant I arrived at the wrong station, Piccadilly, but I’d allowed plenty of time to get over to Victoria for the onward service to Bradford. Indeed sufficient time to dally in record shops along the way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.