This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

Today, I wasn't sure what I would do with myself. I had been saying to myself that I would return to work on Monday and give myself a break...

However, after breakfast and with the weather temporarily sunny I decided that I would walk to my studio. I had a backpack full of odds and ends for the space and there was an ipod doc at Sainsbury's that I saw last week that was affordable (I don't want to be tied to always having headphones on- so this is a studio essential). So, I walked over there and picked it up and some tulips and some couscous and tangerines for lunch.

I spent 4 hours in the space just getting to know the place, filling it with music and putting a few things on the walls. More importantly I taped off and gessoed the 6 final pieces of paper for my upcoming exhibition. A trip to Ikea is in order for some basic studio furniture but other than that it is up and running. I really like the space, it feels so airy and light.

This is a dream come true for me.

I could hear Julie's voice in my head, asking me questions about the space and being excited for me.

Later, I walked towards home and straight to The Tourmalet for a couple of pints and to catch up on emails and chats and then I returned home and cooked dinner and went to bed relatively early.

My studio is a much needed sanctuary, I am so grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.