Trivial

I was at the farm shop bright and early, although the weather was far from bright. 

It had all the look and feel of the morning after a very wet day - see the Blip. 

As often happens I decided to hang about for a coffee after my shopping because I figured I might not get much time outside today with the way the weather forecast looked. 

The only other people looking for coffee that early were a former First Minister and his wife. I think he recognised me, but could not figure out where from, and decided I was best ignored. I was delighted to oblige. 

However, Henry McLeish does have the distinction of winning an election against Jacob Rees-Mogg - the 1997 election to the UK Parliament. McLeish got 58% of the vote compared to 9%. In fact Rees-Mogg was only 3rd and his party's vote share dropped from 17% in the 1992 election down to 9%. 

I have heard it said that Rees-Mogg brought his nanny to take care of him while campaigning. 

As you may have realised from this narrative, nothing much interesting happened today apart from my morning jaunt. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.