Hearthmother

By Hearthmother

Just a little magic

This morning was magical, there, I said it.
The picture, the title, the beginning of the post. Should you even read any further?

Fuck yea you should. It gets even better.

Not only did I wake up to French toast and bacon with a hot cup of coffee but I actually had a sleep in thanks to my dream boat husband.
Good start, does approve.

I walk outside and the sun is absolutely beaming. Today is going to be a day for ‘stuff’. You know when you get that feeling? And you just want to do…. ‘Stuff’?? Yea that one. So I drink my coffee and the cogs start spinning, the engine fires up and off we go!

First stop was Bunnings (hardware store) to buy an outdoor coffee table and chairs (plus cushions, darling, one must not forget comfort!). Then, then, wait, hold on, it got interesting right about the time I bought a coffee and gave Aubrey some marshmallows (my 2 year old). The sugar kicked in for her and the caffeine for me. She was zooming around with a kids trolley and trying all the chairs and things she could find.

Then… she faceplanted right into the wooden arm of an outdoor couch. Ouch.
Yep, tears ensued. Then absolute screaming followed by “I broke-ah my noooooose!”. Ok, caffeine, stfu for a second…. Calm, calm, super calm … “you haven’t broken your nose, it’s just very sore and Mummy will make it all better”. Lots of nose kisses later and finally agreement from her to sit in the big trolley and put the little one back.

It’s go time.

You see, children are like tiny, adorable, time bombs. You have a certain amount of time before they become hungry, tired, bored or over stimulated. The sugar rush and subsequent crash had lessened my window. I had to zoomy zoomy.

Grabbed a couple of cute chairs for the outdoor “thing”.
Found a table, was a display model, guy didn’t wanna sell it to me but suggested a store 2 hours away has it and I could go there (I wish I was joking). Fuck this guy and fuck this situation. Zoomy zoomy. Found a table in a box in some obscure place by accident. Heavy box, up high. Great. Looked around and people just stared (and workers!). Massive eye roll from me followed by “Mummies got this”. My daughter, unbeknownst to her, became my cheerleader. “Mummy do it! Mummy get it!” Heck yes kid.

Deep breath, clench your pelvic floor (thanks childbirth), bend at the knees on the way down and squat all the way down to the trolley bottom half thing.

Aubrey starts saying “HOORAY! MUMMY GOT IT! YAY!” And honestly, that’s all I need in my life. Get yourself a pint sized cheerleader, they are the best.

Then…. But, OK, so, and, wait!
Something caught my eye whilst zooming to the checkout….. a little something, colourful and cute. A little magic. Aubrey helped me choose a little birdie… she didn’t see the rest that I grabbed and shoved in the trolley.

Off we went, back home. She fell asleep in the car and I popped her into bed. One good thing is once she’s asleep, she’s asleep. I mowed the bottom lawn, assembled my new table and chairs…. Added the cushions, daaaarling! Then sat down for a beer and enjoyed my achievements for the day.

But I wasn’t done. Oh-hoh-hoh-noooooo I was not done. I had soaked up some sunbeams and was feeling the magical vibe. I took the little treasures I found and hid them all around the garden for my daughter to eventually find.

I also added two little steering wheels to the fence for her to play cars with her friends but that takes a back seat when it comes to garden magic.

I posted pictures in a WhatsApp chat that I have with my besties. My dear friend said “you are so good at this. It’s because you love it too, I know” and he is right. I do love it, I love the simplicity of childhood, the ability to just dream and imagine, to play. I loved the idea of secret gardens and magic doors, of other worlds and other creatures. Now I want to give all that magic to my children, even if it’s just for a moment. Because it’s those moments that last a human lifetime. The fairies at the bottom of the garden? I had those, my dad would tell me about the goblin king and his treasures, the elves and the fairies. A world of creatures and adventure. I remember it all and one day, she will too.

Everyone deserves a little magic, we might think we are too old to enjoy it, but I promise you, even the oldest of humans enjoys a little magic from time to time.

Today, today was magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.