Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Harbingers

The Dark-eyed Juncos are harbingers of winter, arriving in mid-fall and staying until spring.  There is always a small dread when I spot the first of these "snow birds" each year because it means that winter won't be far behind.  But, they also bring a little flash of joy because they are such dapper little birds with their dark gray backs and soft white breasts.  And when spring starts to stir, their trilling song is lovely to hear.  I saw the first one several weeks ago but now I am seeing more and some are probably settling in to spend the winter.  

Like most members of the sparrow family, juncos are most comfortable feeding on the ground, but as winter creeps along, they will adapt to feeders and some will even be seen clinging to a suet feeder.  

As you may be able to tell, it's raining today.  I used a fairly slow shutter speed on this to compensate for the low light but also in hopes of capturing some of the rain drops.  And I was safely tucked in my hide where me and my gear could stay dry.  

Jax hates rain so he has only had two very quick trips outside so far.  I tried to take him out after lunch, but he stuck his nose out the door and then immediately ran back inside.  I'm hoping for a break in the rain soon because I know he needs to go out for a pee (and probably more.). Meanwhile, he is curled up on the sofa, fast asleep.

And now here's Phoebe, looking for a lap, so I shall put the Mac away and accommodate herself.

I think dark with nuts today.

xo
Debb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.