Acts of deliberate notice

By Yaviere

Bookspot

Depending on the season, I like to sit in different places around the lake.

In summer, when it is hot, I like to sit under the trees on the far side, where a little spot under a birch is perfect for observing the ducks and dragonflies and avoiding sunburn. 

In spring and autumn, when the ground is damp, I like to come to this little wall where my legs can dangle over the water and a willow tree gently brushes my shoulder with its trailing hair and the paler sun catches in a warm corner.

It must be autumn again now, as the wet ground told me it was time to move to my wall again. My old friend the willow was waiting to greet me with a leafy caress and the sun-warmed stone was just perfect for sitting on and reading.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.