LUDLOW CASTLE (best viewed large)

A day of extremes.

This morning Steve the drain man came with a van full of kit, specifically designed to deal with the most stubborn of below ground obstacles.

Steve was a man on a mission. 

But when he started tutting, scratching his head and muttering inaudibly about  'bloody pitch fibre drains', I started to get concerned.

After various attempts using rods, hose, and a jetwash (operating at 3000psi),  the drain finally gave up the ghost, proffered a very loud belch and discharged its heavy load into the septic tank, where it rightfully belonged. It was like lancing a boil, such was the sense of release, and relief.

Enough of that. The drain is now clear and we can start using the facilities again. There is some remedial work to be done but we are getting back to some normality. Phew!!


This afternoon Mrs I and I took Hollie dog for a nice walk along the Corvedale, then this evening I took a car load of camera equipment up to Whitecliffe overlooking the splendid old town of Ludlow,

I had about half an of the most sublime light. I took 127 photographs, all RAW, and some of the better ones have now been processed. Big panoramas (5 frames stitched) and potential for forty inch canvas to grace the walls of our new home.

The castle was bathed briefly in delicious light whilst the hills in the background glowered disapprovingly. It was fabulous and I loved the time alone to do what photographers (try to ) do.......

I am determined to start serious photography again, now I have the opportunity. I have relied far too much on the cheap and easy phone camera.

So there!

And hopefully no more problems with blocked drains, it leaves a sour taste....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.