Gifts of Grace

By grace

The Last Hurrah

I promise this is my last blip of dying tulips.  At least for this year.  These tulips have lived and died SO exuberantly and given me so much pleasure.  Just like my beloved cat, Bunny.

The day I called in the vet to put her to sleep she suddenly rallied and was briefly like a kitten again.  The vet said not to be fooled, she had seen this so often that she had a name for it
- The Last Hurrah.  

Yesterday and today these tulips have been more beautiful than ever but just now, tonight, the light has gone out of them.  I can plant the bulbs out in the garden now and scatter Bunny's ashes with them.  Then I'll post a picture of Bunny and we'll be done, complete.

Thanks to everyone who posts photographs of their cats and dogs they evoke the 'intimacy with all things' which animals represent for me.  Please don't ever stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.