Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Fleecy Shield

Another day with several hours of torrential rain, followed eventually by clearing skies and some surprisingly warm autumn sunshine. Pete and I spent the fine period trying to find some art and stationery products for forthcoming projects. Peterborough now has a very limited selection of suitable stores - the two we visited were on completely different sides of town. However, in the end we managed to find most of what we needed.

By the time I went out for my walk round Thorpe Wood the sun was setting and it was becoming overcast again. I saw very few fungi, but this Fleecy Shield was a nice surprise - only the second time I've ever seen it, the first being a very immature specimen also in Thorpe Wood. It seems to be a fairly uncommon species often associated with very rotten wood - mine was growing on a large, decayed moss-covered oak trunk.

In the evening there was a rather spectacular thunderstorm, the second in less than a week. I'm sure we never used to have so many storms in autumn - another effect of climate change?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.