PINKTOBER - DAY 25 - AND HAPPY BIRTHDAY, HARRY!

Today is going to be a long day!  I woke at 3.22 - with digital clocks and watches, we often know the exact time - and after going into the bathroom, couldn't get back to sleep, so decided just after 4 o'clock to go downstairs, where I prepared for something I need to do on Friday - and although I have now been up for over 6 hours, I am still not tired, but hope that I sleep tonight.

I decided to go out into the garden - still wearing my pink robe - well, it is BCAM and if I can't go out in my pink robe then, when can I?  We still have lots of Chrysanthemums and Dahlias blooming so I took several shots of them all, but liked this beautiful Dahlia.

Mr. HCB's Dad, Harry, was born on this day in 1906, and died suddenly on 27th September 1977, whilst he and Mum, Joan, were away on holiday in Llandudno, North Wales.  It was a very sad time for Mr. HCB and his brother, who drove to North Wales to collect their Mum, because she and Harry had gone on a coach trip from their Church, so she had no means of getting back.

Harry loved his garden and often experimented in his greenhouse.  I know I have said this before - but just before they went on holiday, Mr. HCB was given strict instructions to "look after and not over-water" the yellow carnation that his Dad had propagated, so each day - and we lived just down the road from them - Mr. HCB went up and nurtured that lovely carnation.  However, sadly, Harry died on holiday so never got to see it but Mum decided that it would go in the coffin with him, which I thought was lovely.

So this beautiful Dahlia, in all its pinkness, especially for BCAM, is in honour of Harry on his birthday - I would have blipped a carnation, but none of Mr. HCB’s are blooming now.

You know what to do, almost without me saying - please click on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay may have a free mammogram - thank you so much.

“Cancer does not
     have a face
          until it’s yours
               or someone you know.”
Anthony Del Monte


P.S.  I couldn't decide whether to use the Dahlia or the Chrysanthemum - I liked the Dahlia best, but Mr. HCB liked the Chrysanthemum, so I have put his choice in as an extra - but they were both grown by him anyway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.