PINKTOBER - DAY 24 - THE COMMUNITY FRIDGE AT GHBC

Hello Lovely Blippers,

Reeth here and I am chuffed that today, even though at the Community Fridge at Gorse Hill Baptist Church, Mrs. HCB was doing some of the mucky jobs like sorting out lettuces and strawberries that were looking, shall I say, a little off- colour, I was able to get in amongst the cakes, for a change.

There were all sorts of lovely cakes and I really enjoyed choosing one to have for my lunch, although there were also cup cakes on the plates for people to have with their coffee, so it was a hard choice - I did notice that Mrs. HCB snaffled a chocolate cup cake - but then you all know she is a chocoholic, so I’m not at all surprised.

It was a great morning and there was a lovely “buzz” in the hall - because lots of people stopped for a cuppa and a cake - I think they must have heard me shouting “Cup Cakes and a cup of coffee for 50p!”  Well someone has to get the people into the café and what better way than to give them delicious cup cakes.

We also had a lot of children at the Community Fridge today too because of course, it’s half term this week and they all seemed to enjoy it too.  They were eating some of the sweets that we had bagged up before they all arrived, so they were pleased, although I hoped they wouldn’t spoil their lunch.

Mrs. HCB and lots of the other volunteers were chatting to different people as they sat drinking their coffee and there were also people there from "Live Well Hub", one of the agencies in Swindon, who come on a regular basis, to try and help people in different ways.  Today their emphasis was to help people stop smoking.  There was a lot of other information on their table too about breast cancer and bowel cancer - so they were doing a good job giving out information and advice and it is done in a very informal atmosphere in the Community Fridge Café.

We were late getting home today because there was a meeting of all the volunteers and I didn’t realise there were so many - because of course, Mrs. HCB only goes on a Monday - but there were 15 there, which was great.  I saw that they were discussing what went well, what needed to be changed, and they even discussed the Big C word, although I have to say that the person who was organising the meeting did call it X*** - and Mrs. HCB took her to task about that, but she just smiled!

So a good morning and afternoon - and you can see that I was really pleased to be amongst all the cakes, quavers and packets of macaroni cheese but I was sad that this will be the last time I’m there as the HCBs are away for a few days as from next Sunday - but there’s always the big C coming up, and there was talk of Mince pies and Stollen, so I might even have to go along to one of the Monday meetings of the Community Fridge.

You all know the drill by now - please click on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have one free - Mrs. HCB says she is very grateful to you all for clicking - oh and she says, don’t forget to check too!

Love to you all,

Reeth xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.