PINKTOBER - DAY 23 AND DERELICT SUNDAY

We had a good service at Church this morning, when we heard about the many ways that BMS World Mission is helping people all over the world.  We thought in particular about Paul and Sarah Brown who are serving the Karen people in northern Thailand where Paul is assisting to build up the IT ministry and teaches English to the youth, seminary students, and leaders from the women’s department. Sarah, his wife, teaches baking to the youth and women within the community, so they can utilise the skill for a livelihood and to help their families  and we also heard of others who are helping those who are marginalised and on the move in many different areas.

After Church we decided to go out looking for dereliction and found some not far from home.  We have been to this large barn before, but when we stopped, outside the gate, which had a large padlock, we were aware of the large notices that said "No Trespassing" - and just in case we got caught, I was ready with the line from the Lord's Prayer, "Forgive us our trespasses"!  I could see that there was a car at the back of the barn with its boot lid up, so thought that I should go round and make myself known - and what a good job I did.

I shouted "Coo-ee" as I got round to the back whereupon a dog started barking - so I stood very still - until a man's head poked out of a large motorhome that was inside the barn.  I said that I just wanted to take some photographs, so as the dog wouldn't stop barking, he said he would come out to see me which he kindly did.  I explained about Blip and said I had been to the barn before to take photographs, but had never seen anyone here.  He explained that he was there to look after the place and to see there was no fly-tipping - and there was much evidence of that around the outside of the barn.  He also said he was training the dog, which was quite a young one, to be a guard dog, so because the dog was getting rather frisky, he told it, in a very stern voice, to go back inside - and the dog obeyed.  I was impressed and told him so, and he said that it still need a lot more training.  However, he did say it was fine for me to take any photographs I wanted to and thanked me for speaking to him.

I got several shots of Reeth and his special friend - who is actually wearing purple, but that is quite close to pink - on a derelict piece of farm equipment, so my main shot is of them sitting on one of the wheel arches and of course, you don't need me to tell you what to do - but if you don't know, please click on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have one free.

I have also put several shots in as extras and the difference in the day from this morning, when we had rain of biblical proportions, to the shot looking over the fields, is amazing.

Hope you all have a great week and if you are going away, because it's half term, hope the weather is kind to you.

Don’t give up.
     Every day is worth it.”
Hashmat Effendi : breast cancer survivor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.