JanetH

By JanetH

Many hands make light work

I woke with enthusiasm for gardening this morning, which is quite unusual. I'm fed up with the state it's been in with all the weeds and the branches down etc. Collecting the branches and mowing the lawn yesterday made such an improvement but it was time to start taming some of the shrubs etc.

I was in the garden at 9.45am. Within half an hour my neighbour volunteered to come and help me and three hours later we'd made a lot of progress with all the edges done and the path/patio cleared, the holly and the ivy trimmed. I am very grateful for all he did which has made such an improvement.

A quick lunch and then a car load of garden waste to the tip and a trip to the garden centre. I've now potted up eight tubs, which is usually mum's job but she hasn't been over. They should start to provide some nice colour (and blips!). It is now 4.15pm and I am exhausted ... I was only planning on doing 2 - 3hrs!

A lot of visible progress made in the last 26hrs. Still loads to do but at least it looks like a garden again and not a jungle! I had to take this photo just for the record! I am going to tackle the centre bed in a few weeks time.

What a glorious bank holiday Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.