More on "Cheggies".

Since coming home with me, the Sweet Chestnuts have dried a bit and one split open on its own, the other required a "Cæsarian".

It's taken me a trifle over 80 yrs to discover they will fruit to this size locally.

The remaining two yielded six "Nuts" between them, causing me to wonder if three is the norm?

If you look at the top left one of these you'll see a discernible Tuft, which I, falsely assumed to be part of the case seems more likely to be the "Whiskers" on the Nut ends?

The extra - purely as a result of a recent, online discussion on Leaf-Mould. What you're seeing is what's left, in a bog-standard/common or garden "Dust-Bin", after it's been filled/packed level to the brim with leaves.  Don't ask how long - I have a photo depicting, for online comments,  a very "No eye Deer".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.