Flossmo

By Flossmo

Making a Point

It was very wet when I got up this morning so I decided to stay in the cottage and get on with a few emails and other similar chores. That kept me busy until lunchtime when I ate my beans on toast whilst watching PMQs. A new Prime Minister perhaps but the same old noisy rabble, on both sides. Sunak did okay but the whole idiotic show never seems to reflect the seriousness of the current situation. I despair.

After lunch I drove over to the Ruthin Craft Centre. There is usually something to enjoy and today was no exception. I visited the Print Studio and spent some time studying the exhibited art. The photograph is of an intriguing  3D piece made by Nigel Morris, the facilitator at the Regional Print Centre in Wrexham, and whom I have known for a number of years. I also liked the work of David Nash (extra) who prints with pure, dry pigment and a stencil.

The main exhibition was of the work of Helen Yardley and called Drawings For Floors. Yardley has spent decades designing floor coverings and some of her large rugs were hanging in the main gallery. There was a short film showing how she prepares the initial designs with framed examples of the work (see extras). The last extra is some pottery I saw in the window of one of the smaller studios.  The reflection in the studio window shows a small blue sky interlude we had for a time this afternoon.



     

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.