Living my dream

By Mima

Relentless

It has rained all day, but nothing deters the Bellbirds from feeding on the kowhai flowers.

This is the second of the trees to flower this spring, and it is directly in front of the truck window. As a result I have a perfect view of the birds as they tuck in. Inevitably they were elsewhere when I wanted to take a photo.

The garden will benefit from the weather. The soil was starting to be sufficiently dry for me to be watering the raised beds. And despite the rain I decided to get out there, fully waterproofed. See the extras. The weather is good for planting out veggies. Beetroot and silverbeet (chard) were today's achievement.

It was fine until somehow the rain began to work it’s way up my sleeves. But I still felt cheerful about having some outside time on a wet day.

Bean wasn’t so keen and was a reluctant walker, at first at least. Once she was off the lead she forgot about the rain on her back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.