Living my dream

By Mima

Take a bow…

I’m still nowhere near catching up with blips and comments! Bear with me :-)

It’s been a busy day in town where I was attending the annual training session for NZQA/NCEA exam supervisors. The exams start in a fortnight and continue for three weeks. I’m currently scheduled to be working in five exams, and I’m first reserve for a further nine.

This is the fifth year I’ve supervised and very little has changed in that time, but it’s worth running through all the procedures again to fill in some aged gaps in my brain. Plus we get paid to attend the training.

Of course there were dog walks slotted into the day, up onto Cape Wanbrow and in Enfield. And during the lunch break Bean and I had a picnic by the harbour, where this bold Red-Billed Gull sat waiting for scraps, occasionally giving us a wee bow as if to encourage us to share. It didn’t work.

Beyond the gull is the Victorian era Sumpter Wharf which is now a protected structure…for its populations of breeding Spotted Shags and Otago Shags.

I dashed home to get the washing in ahead of the rain, and to try to catch up with some gardening. The first part was successful, the second part less so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.