NinjaShoe

By NinjaShoe

Quirk of fate

This is Andrea - we met aged 3, a our mothers sent us to the same playgroup in Croydon and were very friendly as they had similar childhood-rearing-philosophies (something my Mum has always maintained is crucial if you are required to endure the company of other people's children) .....by the time we started school we were the best of friends.

We spent a lot of time in each other's houses (Andrea and sister Gunda lived just up the road) and her house was where I went  to my first party on my own, had my first invitation to tea and my first sleepover.

We changed friendship groups aged 11 when we went to different schools but kept up with each others news via our parents.

By some quirk of fate it turns out that her parents in law live in the same village as I do!  We have irregularly corresponded about dropping in for cups of tea but when duty calls PIL's are priority, so this hadn't happened - until today.

So 40 years on we had a dog walk and catch up with our lives and our families lives.  And it was just so comfortable and lovely and over too soon.  

Makes me reflect on the experiences my own children are having right now, the friends they (and we) are making,  and how long lasting and powerful those memories are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.