Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Limestone Waxcaps

These tiny red waxcaps have featured in my journal a number of times, , but I always get a thrill whenever I see them, and today there were lots in the moss-dominated vegetation at Stonepit Close. They've clearly benefited from the recent downpours.

I ended up at Stonepit Close after a site meeting at Swaddywell to agree further vegetation scraping. I'd planned to have a walk round Swaddywell after the meeting, but instead went over to the farm shop where I bought some mixed game for the weekend, a kilo of home grown plum tomatoes for 50p and half a kilo of very ripe pears for 25p! The tomatoes were excellent value - the pears slightly less so as some were already rotting, but the remainder were absolutely delicious.

After the farm shop I headed for home but changed my mind because it was such a lovely afternoon. Stonepit Close was deserted apart from three red kites, and a rather vociferous Raven. A gentle walk photographing fungi was just what I needed to wind down after a busy couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.