Cropped

A while back I was given some Jerusalem Artichokes which I duly planted and left to their own devices.  They grew rather tall and I decided to pull a few of them out earlier in the week and was fascinated to see how the tubers had grown. I roasted these ones to make soup today and very tasty it was too - rich and creamy.  

They were the most neglected of everything I planted this year but actually produced the most produce - not sure if I could/should generalise from this though. 

I finished two books this week. Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus which I look forward to discussing at Book Group on Monday. It was the author's first book at 64.  

I also finished The Paper Garden by Molly Peacock. It is about the life of Mary Delany who "began her life's work (botanical mosaics) at 72"

I am choosing to take inspiration from both that this stage of life can be one of personal growth and development and remaining active, albeit in different directions from younger years but building on them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.