Mount Keen

Just about the last chance, before the clocks go back this weekend, to fit in a longer mountain-walk, within decent daylight ...

... and with the weather forecast for the West of Scotland being so atrocious, I slightly altered my plans and chose to do the most Easterly Munro in the country: Mount Keen, one which I've never actually been up before!

It was certainly a day of two-halves, with the morning being pretty wet, and the afternoon rather glorious :-)

Unfortunately, I've run out of extras (and it's not even November!), so am having to resort to a collage:

* top-left is the Queen's Well, which I passed on the long approach to Mount Keen, as I walked along Glen Esk;
* top-right is the summit trig-point, where the wind was easily 70-80mph ... thus the low angle of the snap!;
* bottom-left was my view on the return route - looking back along Glen Esk ... just look at the change in that weather!;
* bottom-right is the very full River North Esk, two fast-flowing tributaries of which, I had to ford on the way back to my starting-point.

An excellent day's walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.