pipflash1

By pipnat51

Autumn Leaves

"Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I'll hear old winter's song
But I miss you most of all my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall"
Nat King Cole


It's true, for me at least, that each autumn when the clocks go back and dark evenings beckon, I'm given to wistful thinking. Not depressing thoughts but just sort of finding myself remembering and marking the changing seasons throughout the year since last autumn. 


It's completely different in the spring when we change the same clocks to summertime and I see new beginnings each year. I'm sure that a psychologist could explain all this and it would be interesting to find out. 


I've always remembered the old joke about 'how many psychologists does it take to change a light bulb? They would probably say, does the light bulb want to be changed?'


Thinking back to autumn we do have the changing colours, harvest festivals, geese flying overhead to their winter feeding grounds, Halloween, misty mornings, spiders webs covered in dew, and so much more. It's a lovely time of year but then so are all the seasons in their own way but my favourite I think is autumn.


Have a great weekend everyone and yes a humongous thank you for your hearts, stars, and comments.x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.