Fungi

We met up with friends today for a walk around Aylesbeare Common.  I had checked out the route on Monday when I spotted many different fungi all in very good condition.  The fungi were still there today but mainly past their best I think the recent heavy rain had effected them or they had matured very quickly.  There were still lots to look at though.  We saw so many different varieties and although I look them up in an old fungi identification book I am never quite sure what they are.  This red capped one I believe is some form of Russula.  Down near the river we found a very striking one mainly because of the colours of the stem which are greenish and the yellow gills, I have included it in extras.  We came across more of them further round on our walk where the colours were less pronounced but still visible.  

It was an enjoyable walk and good to meet up with our friends who we hadn't seen for some time.  It didn't rain either which was a bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.