If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Autumn colour.

Unusually the guests had left the Lodge on Thursday so we decided to do most of the prepping straight away.  They had emptied the bins so I had no walk to the main bins in which to try to find a blip.

Since watching Autumnwatch I have been looking much more closely at autumn leaves.  I would love to find one with the green band between the veins indicating the presence of a moth caterpillar.  Chemicals the caterpillar excretes prevent the colour change keeping the leaf fresh for it to feed.

As I was going down the steps from the Lodge I was looking at the leaves on the neighbour's tree.  None showed signs of having the caterpillar but the mixed colours were interesting, to me at least.  So blip sorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.