megssw17

By megssw17

My father's funeral

We knew this day would come and we knew we would have to steel ourselves to get through it. It was a strange day: so surreal that it was what it was and also so lovely in so many ways.

The hearse came to collect us. There was Dad in his coffin which was beautiful - with a spray of daffodils on top. Daffodils for new life, new hopes, new beginnings.

Arriving at church, I can still hear the slow chime of the church bells and how the shoppers stopped to show respect - a silence seemed to surround us. The church was packed with people showing they loved my Dad, me, mum and my brother. So many people, so many emotions. But just a sea of black to me - I couldn't see anyone.

I steeled myself to read from Ecclesiastes 3. Which I felt I delivered the best I could. There is indeed time for everything - never forget that. Caitlin read too - in her confident 7 year old way.Stealling the show and raising a smile.

My brother lurched through his eulogy - with beautiful emotion and evoking such happy memories.

The day finished with a cheeky pint in the pub for my brother, husband and I - I know Dad would have approved.

I miss him so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.