lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Boats in Yarmouth Harbour

This morning I was woken at 5:45am by a fog horn announcing the first ferry of the day. The fog horns continued intermittently for the next few hours until I decided to give up on sleep and go and take some photos of the mist. The mist was starting to clear by the time we reached the shore but it still made for some nice photos. I took a panorama showing the mist clearing over the town. It still took until about 11am before we could see anything beyond the harbour wall.

We left Yarmouth and headed along the coast to Newtown Harbour, which is apparently a Roman harbour so not all that new! We stopped there for some lunch which attracted a lot of seagulls. I saw some oyster catchers which made me happy. Then we headed back to Southampton and Nick and I got on a packed train where we had to stand between carriages - not too comfortable and very hot and sweaty. Eventually got back to London and I got a less crowded but still hot train back here.

I had a really lovely weekend. I definitely want to explore more of the Isle of Wight and also go to Jersey at some point. I just need to get up the courage and the get motivated to plan a holiday for myself rather than just talking about places I could or should go. Sadly it's back to work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.