Postcard from Banks Peninsula

We took a trip over to Pigeon Bay today were my Father was born and my Brother lived for the first part of his life. My Son drove us which was good as my Brother could enjoy seeing all the places where he grow up in. It was another warm day with more sunshine than yesterday. 

Pigeon Bay is 20 km north-west of Akaroa. It was settled in the 1840s, before Christchurch was founded, by the Hay and Sinclair families. The village at its head survives as a cluster of houses and holiday homes.

Top Left: is the Wharf at Pigeon Bay. My Brother had lots of memories of it was where the boats would could come in. In this shot we are taking a shot of each other. Top Right: is looking down Akaora harbour just before turning of to go down to Pigeon Bay on the other side of the harbour. Bottom Left: Looking across to where our Grandfather had his farm. Bottom Right: My Brother telling the me some history of the family, by our Grandparents grave. Also our Parents have a plaque just below the headstone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.