Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Leafminer Trail

Inspired by Friday's Autumn Watch I went looking along a neighbour's beech hedge for these abnormal leaves. On close examination I have found this leaf too late and the caterpillar has departed to form a cocoon outside the leaf.
 
The moth, Stigmella tityrella, lays an egg on the underside of the beech  leaf and the hatched caterpillar burrows into the leaf. As it eats it leaves a trail of poo. The channel gets wider as the caterpillar grows.

On Autumn Watch you could see the caterpillar constantly eating and pooing. Specific bacteria in the caterpillar emit a chemical into its saliva which keeps the section of the leaf alive at this time of year.

I'll start looking for them earlier next year in July and August.

I'm not a fan of Halloween but I couldn't help being amused as I peeled the baking sheet off an oven tray. The lamb fat left ghostly shapes. Our village organised Trick & Treating and only went to houses displaying a pumpkin.

Just for my record: We spent last night at the lodge to await the delivery of a new mattress anytime between 7 and 10 am. A luxury sprung one made in Yorkshire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.