Larch cones and needles.

A day of small things. I plucked my eyebrows, and organised a shopping list for tomorrow. Then I moved a bit of redundant  concrete edging into the storage seat in my arbour. I've been moving about half a dozen pieces for weeks being very careful to bend my knees and hug them close to my body.  I don't want another torn muscle.  Only one left to go now and all that weight in the arbour should help it stay put in gales.  Today has been very windy and cold too. Definitely wintry.  Sorted out the birds for the coming weather and the cats.  Scrubbed all the feeders and hung them high up on the old clothes pole which will defeat Elmo and the black marauder from down the road.  Found the fat ball feeder and put it out too.  The sparrows were there  in a flash.  Chopped quite a lot off the bay tree. Well it's more of a bush really and I want to be able to see the feeders to enjoy the squabbles.  Realised it was time to go up to Craigmead for a blip.  I haven't quite adjusted to how quickly it gets dark.  But there was plenty of time. and it was nice to go rustling through the fallen leaves to the little larch plantation.  Took loads of photos most of which were useless as the wind was blowing a hooley.  I had to resort to branches growing against a wall and even they weren't holding still.   Eventually gave up and went to the Pillars for milk.  They are at work on the building, adding an extra bit on for inside seating. I love the way it constantly changes to meet new circumstances.  Came home to plant species tulips that have been growing in containers all year and a bag of camassia  bulbs.  I really need to get on with the bulb planting.   However, that was it.  Came in and made tea and toast with plum jam.  Lay on the sofa cuddled under my duvet with a heat pad on my knee and relaxed.  Watched the dark fall and caught up on reading how the brain changes. Makes a change from all the cosy comfort stuff I've been burying myself in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.