Seminar

After breakfast in New College, we had a couple of hours before the start of a very busy afternoon, so I showed И around the college and, after leaving our luggage at Balliol College lodge, took a longer walk around the centre of Oxford and Christchurch Meadows. Back at Balliol, we met my friend C, who is the academic host of my seminar and had a good lunch in the Senior Common Room. We then walked to the impressive (relatively new) Maths Institute for my seminar. I'd put a lot of new or reworked slides into it, so I had to concentrate hard, but И said that it came across well. There weren't so many people in the audience, but many of them asked questions immediately afterwards or over coffee.

Two people in the audience were from a company based in Oxford, and we walked with them to their office for an hour's meeting before going to the pub across the road for a pint. Back at New College we went to evensong in the chapel (pictured) which was a welcome moment of calm. After dinner in a Thai restaurant we went to Balliol, where И collected her luggage and headed off to her room in St Anne's College, and I relaxed in the Balliol fellows' guest room II! Thanks C!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.