Mariton Wildlife Sanctuary ...

... White-breasted Nuthatch.

I like everything about this picture except for the fact that he/she is at the feeder!  But since I don't post nuthatch pictures very often I'm going with it!

To take advantage of this fine autumn day we went to Mariton Wildlife Sanctuary for our walk today.  They have several trails but there is also a really nice bird blind along one of them.  We started our walk along the Woods trail and then onto Chimney Rock overlook trail as we had never walked out to the overlook before.  As we walked the overlook trail it was getting steeper by the minute ... until I simply didn't feel safe walking it.  Richard continued on to see if the "overlook" was worth it and returned in about 10 minutes ... totally out of breath from the climb!  Come to find out there is no actual "overlook" ... just a small out cropping of rocks that resemble a "chimney"!  I'm so glad I let him scope it out before I continued.  

When he got back to where he left me we turned around and walked to the bird blind.  We spent at least 30 minutes here photographing all the different species of birds ... and the occasional chipmunk and squirrel!  We saw quite a few different species ... including white-breasted nuthatches, downy woodpeckers, red-bellied woodpeckers, chickadees, and tufted titmice just to name a few of them.  

It was a lovely day spent in some awesome company.  

Backblipped: November 1 ... wow, November already!?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.