Fair seed time

I cycled down to the beach at Wells and through the pinewoods to Holkham. It was quite busy at that end so I went on towards Overy. I parked my bike just as I used to when I was little and crossed the dunes to the shore, stopping for some sea buckthorn juice bursts on the way. I then went for a bracing swim and afterwards sat out of the wind and warmed up with my coffee. On my way back I stopped to gaze across to the Iron Age fort with three red kites circling overhead and then made my way back through Holkham estate and one of my favourite tree lined avenues.

From The Prelude, Book 1 - William Wordsworth

‘Fair seed-time had my soul, and I grew up
Foster'd alike by beauty and by fear;
...
Wisdom and Spirit of the universe!
Thou Soul that art the eternity of thought!
That giv'st to forms and images a breath
And everlasting motion! not in vain,
By day or star-light thus from my first dawn
Of Childhood didst Thou intertwine for me
The passions that build up our human Soul ...’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.