Oysterling

Thanks so much to everyone who showered yesterday's blipday entry with hearts and stars, and left such lovely comments. It's a long time since I've had a photo on the top line of the Popular page!

Today I'm continuing with the fungal theme, as it's finally proving to be a good year locally. Today's image shows the underside of one of the Oysterlings Crepidotus sp. growing on a willow log in our garden  habitat pile. Although the colour is subdues, I always find something very satisfying about the gill arrangement of these common fungi. The sharp-eyed among you may spot a second species of tiny white fungus - most likely one of the Bonnets Mycena sp. It's a bit early to be sure, but I suspect it could be Mycena corynephora.


While investigating the logs I found two colonies of slime-moulds, both of which are new to the garden, although I can only name one - the Many-headed Slime Physarum album which I photographed in Rice Wood on Halloween.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.